One Year Later

Hello, everyone!  I believe I have reached a milestone of sorts.  It has been a year since I began pursuing photography full-time!  *insert celebratory music here*

So how has the past year been?  Things have been slow, like I expected them to be.  I certainly didn’t think I would be instantly flooded with jobs and clients.  However, I still learned a lot and did things I didn’t think I would attempt for at least a few more years.  In February I shot a wedding for the first time.  It was a great learning experience but I’ve decided to wait a little longer and gain more experience before continuing to independently pursue wedding photography.  Which, as you will notice, is why I removed the “Weddings” gallery from my website.  As my digital photography teacher told me, the work you show in your portfolio should be the kind of work you want to do.  You don’t want clients to ask you to do something you’re not pursuing.

In the past year I’ve shot some great photos and I’ve made mistakes.  Photography is forever a learning experience.  You can never learn everything there is to learn and reach the point where you are “done”.  There is so much more I want to learn and experience with photography.  If for whatever reason I am not able to to have a career in photography or use it as a legitimate source of income, I want to always have it as a hobby, a special personal interest.  Thanks to automotive repairs and having to unexpectedly buy a new computer last year, using photography as a legitimate source of income isn’t working very well so far.  I’m currently in the process of reworking my photography game plan.

Even though I really enjoy photography, there are other things in life I’m looking forward to.  I do hope to be married and have a family someday.  When I come to this time in my life, my husband and children will take priority over my photography, as they should.  Most likely this will be when photography goes from a form of employment to a hobby.

What is in store for the coming year?  I’m not really sure.  I have ideas about what I would like to happen, but I don’t know if they will.  What I would like to happen might not be what God wants to happen.  He might have different things in mind for me and I’m still trying to figure out what those things could be.  So I guess we’ll wait and see what happens.  :)

One thought on “One Year Later

  1. Pingback: To Fort Wayne and Back | Rooney Photography

Comments are closed.