Self-portrait 16

This is the third and final installment of a special series within my self-portrait project.  You can see the first two installments here and here.

It’s difficult to shoot portraits like this when you are both the subject and the photographer.  There are so many factors involved:  Getting the camera as close as possible without getting it wet.  Making sure the water isn’t so warm that the lens gets fogged up (which did happen a few times, though turning on the fan in the bathroom helped tremendously).  Trying to not breathe in the water pouring over your head.  Blinking out the makeup getting in your eyes.  Hoping the remote to your camera isn’t damaged from getting so wet.  Thinking about the most aesthetically pleasing way to pose yourself in front of the camera without looking like you’re thinking about it.

Thank goodness for huge towels because the bathroom floor turned into a pond from my constantly going between the shower and the camera while I was sopping wet and dripping water all over the place.  I am certainly up for trying portraits with water again though.  It was fun, challenging, and I’d love to give it a go when I can be just the photographer and have someone else be the subject.

I hope y’all have enjoyed this little series!  I know I had a blast putting it together and have been impatiently waiting to share it.  Thank you for all your support! :)

