Self-portrait 04

Why do people hold things in front of their faces in photos?  Are they trying to say something?  Maybe the object is something they believe defines them, so they hold it in front of their face as if to say, “This is important to me.  This is part of my life.”

Or maybe the reasoning is more like the description of the painting Son of Man by the artist himself, Rene Magritte.  “Everything we see hides another thing, we always want to see what is hidden by what we see.”

What is the meaning behind my photo?  I love classic literature and fantasy.  This book by H.G. Wells is my latest acquisition.  I’ve already made it through The Time Machine and am in the middle of The Invisible Man.  :)

One thought on “Self-portrait 04

  1. Pingback: Self-portrait 26 | Rooney Photography

Comments are closed.