Editing: Keeping It Simple

My grandma is 83 years old.  She doesn’t know much about computers or how photography works, but that doesn’t stop her from asking questions and giving advice.  She came up with an idea when showing her things about photography and what I do.  “What if you show people what you can do to the pictures?  How you make them all special?”  She said this more than once and it is something I’ve thought about doing in the past.  I decided to follow her advice.

Something my photoshop teacher told us is that when it comes to photo editing “less is more”.  The smallest, most subtle changes can have a bigger impact than going all photoshoppy on an image.  Depending on the type of photography you’re doing, I believe this is true more often than not.  I keep this in mind when I’m editing my photos.  When I’m tweaking an image, especially when I’m touching up someone’s skin, I try to keep it as natural as possible.  I don’t go all airbrush crazy on people.  I don’t brighten eyes so much that they look like vampires.  I don’t make teeth glow when I whiten them.  Unless a client requests a certain editing style or effect, I tend to keep things very clean and simple.  Here are some examples of the editing I do.  This is the baseline; what I do when my clients do not request anything special.

As you can see, I tend to keep things very simple.  However, I am starting to branch out and play around a little more with editing.  Next week you’ll get to see some of what I’ve been experimenting with and how it compares with the baseline editing.  Stay tuned!  :)

2 thoughts on “Editing: Keeping It Simple

  1. Pingback: Editing: Something Special | rooneyphotography

  2. Pingback: Editing: Your Own Photos | rooneyphotography

Comments are closed.