New Things!

So what’s been going on in the land of Rooney Photography?  All sorts of exciting things!

I have a photo session in the works with one of my friends.  It’s very unique and I’m terribly excited to get to shoot these photos. I really wish I could say more, but I want it to be a surprise for y’all.  Keep an eye out for some special new photos on my Facebook page and a blog post about the session.

Have you heard of Etsy?  It’s a really neat website where vintage and handmade items can be bought and sold.  Being a crafty person myself, I think it’s really wonderful.  There are so many talented people selling their work on this website and my sister is one of them!  She sells handmade cards, gift tags, and place cards.  This is her shop: piecefuljoy.etsy.com. (Here’s an interesting little tidbit: I helped her come up with the name for her business!)  By now you’re probably thinking, “What does Etsy have to do with photography?”  Sure, you purchase cards, vintage clothing, homemade soaps, and things like that on Etsy.  But it’s also a place where you can acquire original artwork!  Paintings, sculptures, and photographic prints are up for grabs on Etsy.  I’m planning on opening a shop to sell a collection of my photographs.  I have many fantastic floral, city, and other artistic shots that I’m excited to put up for sale.  I’ll be sticking with smaller sizes for now (5×7 and 8×10) but will hopefully offer bigger prints in the future (11×14 and up!).  I’ll add my Etsy shop to my Facebook page once it’s up and running and there will most likely be a blog post about it.  So, once again, keep an eye out for something new popping up!

I’d like to give a huge “thank you” for all the support y’all have given me.  If it wasn’t for the kind words, strong advice, and y’all willingly (or unwillingly) putting up with me taking a million photos of you and everything else, I wouldn’t have the courage to put myself out there and start my business.  Another great big “thank you” to God for giving me such amazing and encouraging friends and family.  :)

(I posted the black and white version of this photo to my Facebook page, but here’s the color version.  Which do you like best?  Is this something you would purchase from Etsy?)

